England’s Ecclestone nominated for ICC Women’s T20 Player of the Year award

Author Avatar

Staff Writer

Joined: Nov 2016

Published 03/01/2024 at 18:48 GMT

England spinner Sophie Ecclestone has made the shortlist for the ICC’s Women’s T20 Player of the Year. Ecclestone is ranked as the format’s No. 1 bowler. She was the leading wicket taker at the 2023 World Cup, although that wasn’t enough to inspire Heather Knight’s side to victory, as they lost to tournament hosts and eventual runners-up South Africa in the semi-finals.Sophie Ecclestone of England celebrates the wicket of Smriti Mandhana of India during the 3rd T20 International match between India Women and England Women at Wankhede Stadium on December 10, 2023 in Mumbai, India.

Image credit: Getty Images

England’s Sophie Ecclestone has made the four-woman shortlist for the ICC Women’s T20 Player of the Year award.

The spinner has had another sensational 12 months in an England shirt, and ended 2023 ranked as the No. 1 bowler in both white-ball formats.

She has been nominated alongside West Indies all-rounder Hayley Mathews, Ellyse Perry of Australia, and Sri Lanka’s Chamari Athapaththu.

Each will provide stiff competition to Ecclestone for the award, which will be announced later this month.

Ecclestone has enjoyed a superb year, despite missing four months due to a shoulder injury that required surgery.

At the start of 2023, she helped England reach the semi-finals of the T20 World Cup, where they lost to hosts and eventual runners-up South Africa.

The 24-year old finished the tournament as leading wicket taker, claiming 11 wickets at a staggering average of just 7.55.

That terrific form continued when she returned from injury at the back end of the year, striking another seven times across three matches in a T20 series in India.

She finished the year with 23 wickets from 11 T20 internationals, with those scalps costing only just over 10 runs apiece.

Ecclestone isn’t the only England player to be recognised in the ICC awards.

Team-mate Lauren Bell has been nominated for the Emerging Women’s Cricketer of the Year.

The fast bowler starred across all three formats in 2023, taking a total of 22 wickets.

TNT Sports presents the premium live sports rights previously carried by BT Sport including the Premier League, UEFA Champions League, UEFA Europa League, UEFA Conference League, Gallagher Premiership Rugby, Investec Champions Cup, EPCR Challenge Cup, MotoGP, Cricket, UFC, Boxing, NBA and WWE. The streaming home for TNT Sports in the UK is discovery+, where fans can enjoy a subscription that includes TNT Sports, Eurosport and entertainment in one destination. You can also watch TNT Sports through BT, EE, Sky, and Virgin Media.


0 %

User Score

0 ratings
Rate This