Jan Scannell, the man behind the National Braai Day initiative and the South African of the Year awards has said that voting is now open for the South African of the Year award!

In accordance to all activities of the National Braai Day initiative, the prestigious South African of the Year is being run as an unprofitable preposition with the solitary intent of boosting the Heritage Day public holiday on September 24 every year as South Africa’s national anniversary.

The last winner of the award was Wayde van Niekerk an Olympic gold medalist

A statement from Scannell said.  “In the end, Van Niekerk’s superb run from lane eight in the Olympic 400m final sealed the deal; not only did he claim South Africa’s first gold medal at the Rio Games (Semenya claimed the second), but his time of 43.03 seconds also broke the 400m world record set in 1999.”

The “South African of the Year” is a registered trademark, of which the National Braai Day initiative is the legal custodian.

“The South African of the Year is someone who, with a phenomenal achievement, made you extremely proud to be South African,” says  Scannell.

“Our intention is to highlight exceptional performances by South Africans that bring the country to a standstill, and to acknowledge the special moments where the hearts of the nation beat together, united in pride,” he ended.

Below are the nominees:-

Judge Mogoeng Mogoeng

Kevin Anderson


Esther Mahlangu

Luvo Manyonga