There seems to be some tension and crises within the ruling party. The number of ANC MPs that have resigned after President Zuma’s midnight reshuffle is gradually piling up. The big question is what could be causing these increasing resignation within the ANC.

ANC National Council Of Provinces (NCOP) Chief Whip Hunadi Mateme has resigned. Mateme’s resignation was announced on Thursday afternoon by NCOP chairperson Thandi Modise.

Mateme was deployed to Parliament as the ANC’s chief whip in the NCOP after the 2014 general elections.

She led a South African delegation to the Pan-African Parliament (PAP) earlier this month.

NCOP has unanimously elected Seiso Mohai as its new chief whip.

Mateme’s resignation brings the number of ANC members that have resigned since after President Zumas midnight cabinet reshuffle to eight.

ANC’s Jonas Mcebisi was the first to leave Parliament, followed by former ministers Tina Joemat-Pettersson (energy)‚ Dipuo Peters (transport), Ngoako Ramatlhodi (public service) and Rejoice Mabudafhasi (Former deputy minister of arts and culture) Thabo Manyoni and Brian Molefe who resigned recently also.