South African President, Jacob Zuma has re-appointed Francois Groepe as the Deputy Governor of the South African Reserve Bank for a period of five years.


Groepe is to resume work on 1 January 2017.

He was first appointed Deputy Governor of the SARB in January 2012 for a five year term ending on 31 December 2016.

His involvement at the South African Reserve Bank dates back to July 2004 when he was appointed as a Non-Executive Director.

Groepe is currently the Chairperson of both the South African Bank Note Company and the South African Mint Company (SA Mint)‚ subsidiaries of the Reserve Bank that produce the country’s currency as well as currencies of other countries.