President Jacob Zuma put the continent in shock after announcing an immediate ban to all citizens from Southern African countries.

With immediate effect, citizens from these countries will no longer be allowed in South Africa in what Zuma called a temporary freeze.

The banned countries are as follows:

  • Angola,
  • Botswana,
  • Lesotho,
  • Malawi,
  • Mozambique,
  • Namibia,
  • Swaziland,
  • Zambia,
  • and Zimbabwe.

The news was met with resistance from various stakeholders and diplomats from the affected countries. They have called an emergency meeting.

Pres. Jacob Zuma who spoke in parliament said the countries in Southern Africa are responsible for the rampant job loss among local South Africans because they find it much easier to come into South Africa than others.

“I want South Africans to have jobs before others but it’s the other way round. Why should my child suffer while my neighbor’s child eats in my field?

” Must of them take these jobs at any cheap offer, there by taking away negotiating power from our citizens.” Pres. Zuma said.

He also highlighted the alarming crime rates by foreigners in South Africa. He said foreigners from neighboring countries commit crimes and run away from their countries, mostly illegals.

”They have an advantage because they seem to understand most of our language.

“All foreigners currently in South Africa from the affected countries will be vetted and if found to have contravened, they will be sent home immediately”, Zuma announced.

There was no word on how the affected countries would respond to Zuma’s shock announcement.

Source : LiveMonitor