A trip to any embassy is not exactly anyone’s idea of fun when you plan your holidays; especially when you live in a smaller city or town and have to get your paperwork stamped, sealed and delivered.

Depending on your choice of a destination – your life, financial situation and employment whereabouts – come under the magnifying glass of officials with surly faces making you doubt the status of your criminal record.

Home Affairs Minister, Malusi Gigaba has recently entered into negotiations with European Union Ambassador Marcus Cornaro on immigration-related issues between South Africa and Europe. And while the ministers and ambassadors are having their legal official conversations, South Africans are sitting on the edge of their seats with the possibility that they might be able to travel visa-free to many European countries soon.

However, New Zealand is closing its visa-free doors to South Africans and if you want to visit the All Black territory after the 21st of November you need to apply for a visa.

There are still quite a handful of countries to visit around the world that will grant your official green book of travel visa-free or visa-on-arrival access.

Here’s a quick glance of where you can go, visa-free or get a visa on arrival, with your South African passport:


1. Africa.

African countries we can enter without visas are :

  • Benin.
  • Botswana.
  • Gabon.
  • Kenya.
  • Lesotho.
  • Malawi.
  • Mozambique.
  • Namibia.
  • Saint Helena.
  • Swaziland.
  • Tunisia.
  • Zambia.
  • Zimbabwe.

African countries we can enter with a visa on arrival are :

  • Mauritius.
  • Rwanda.
  • Seychelles.
  • Burundi.
  • Cape Verde.
  • Comoros.
  • Djibouti.
  • Ethiopia.
  • Guinea-Bissau.
  • Madagascar.
  • Mauritania.
  • Tanzania.
  • Togo.
  • Tunisia.
  • Uganda.

South and Central America.

South and Central American countries we can enter without visas are.

  • Argentina.
  • Bahamas.
  • Barbados.
  • Belize.
  • Brazil.
  • Chile.
  • Colombia.
  • Costa Rica.
  • Dominica.
  • Ecuador.
  • El Salvador.
  • Grenada.
  • Guatemala.
  • Guyana.
  • Haití.
  • Honduras.
  • Jamaica.
  • Nicaragua.
  • Panama.
  • Paraguay.
  • Peru.
  • Saint Lucia.
  • Saint Vincent and Grenadines.
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela.

North America.

No way around this one, you will need a visa.


European countries we can enter on our passport are:

  • Reunion Island… But let’s see what the future holds.

Asia and Middle East.

Asian and Middle Eastern countries we can enter on our passport are:

  • Indonesia.
  • Israel.
  • South Korea.
  • Malaysia.
  • Philippines.
  • Singapore.
  • Thailand.
  • Hong Kong.
  • Macau.

Asian and Middle Eastern countries we can enter with a visa on arrival are:

  • Armenia.
  • Cambodia.
  • Iran.
  • Jordan.
  • Kyrgyzstan.
  • Laos.
  • Maldives.
  • Nepal.
  • Oman.
  • Tajikistan.
  • Timor-Leste,.


Oceania countries we can enter on our passport are:

  • Cook Islands.
  • Fiji.
  • Vanuatu.

Oceania countries we can enter with a visa on arrival are:

  • Samoa.
  • Federated States of Micronesia.
  • Marshall Islands.
  • Niue.
  • Palau.
  • Tuvalu.

Read also : Pres. Zuma is the 4th highest paid Head of State in the World :see full list.