The winners of this year’s South African Literary Awards (SALAs) have been announced.

The SALAs were founded in 2005 by the wRite associates and the Department of Arts and Culture, to celebrate literary excellence in all the languages of South Africa.

TT Cloete and Chris van Wyk were honoured with Posthumous Literary Awards, while Ingrid Winterbach and Johan Lenake received Lifetime Achievement Literary Awards.

The K Sello Duiker Memorial Literary Award – for writers under the age of 40 – is shared by Willem Anker and Panashe Chigumadzi.

The First-time Published Author Award is also shared this year, by Francois Smith and Jacob Dlamini.

The Literary Journalism Award, Creative Non-Fiction Award or South African National Poet Laureate Prize were not awarded this year.

See the full list of winners:

2016 South African Literary Awards (SALAs) winners

Posthumous Literary Awards:

TT Cloete, for his body of work
Chris van Wyk, for his body of work

Poetry Awards:

Gilbert Gibson, Vry
Arja Salafranca, Beyond Touch

Nadine Gordimer Short Story Award:

Sandra Hill, Unsettled and Other Stories

Literary Translators Award:

Leon de Kock & Karin Schimke, Flame in the Snow: The Love Letters of Andre Brink & Ingrid Jonker

Lifetime Achievement Literary Awards:

Ingrid Winterbach, for her body of work
Johan Lenake, for his body of work

K Sello Duiker Memorial Literary Awards:

Willem Anker, Buys
Panashe Chigumadzi, Sweet Medicine

First-time Published Author Award:

Francois Smith, Kamphoer
Jacob Dlamini, Askari

Chairperson’s Award:

Gcina Mhlophe, for her body of work