Although the national treasury has come under severe public scrutiny and suspicion, hence eliciting wide allegations.Finance Minister Malusi Gigaba on Wednesday denied signing off on a letter to Public Protector Busisiwe Mkhwebane asking for an investigation into Treasury.

Similarly, earlier today,  the public protector’s office confirmed several ministers wrote a letter requesting that she investigated the conduct, alleged collusion and corruption at Treasury and other financial institutions in South Africa. This reportedly included the South African Reserve Bank, Financial Intelligence Centre, Public Investment Corporation and the Financial Services Board.

The letter was apparently signed off by 90 “ANC MPs and concerned South African citizens”, including Gigaba.

However, Gigaba’s spokesperson, Mayihlome Tshwete, said in a tweet responding to HuffPost SA that the minister did not sign off on the letter.

The other names on the list of signatories that appeared on the letter are Des Van Rooyen; Buti Manamela; Lynne Brown; Faith Muthambi; Nomvula Mokonyane; Bathabile Dlamini; Nathi Mthethwa; Nathi Nhleko; David Mahlobo; Lindiwe Zulu; and Mosebenzi Zwane.

The finance minister said he would investigate a report by African News Network (ANN7) alleging financial mismanagement of government’s Integrated Financial Management System.

But, according to the segments of the letter that HuffPost SA has seen, some of the ministers’ names were spelt incorrectly and the signing of their names all seem to be have been done in the same handwriting.

Mahlobo’s spokesperson Brian Dube also said he had not “seen the correspondence himself” but would check with the minister.